Teriyaki Wasabi Bison Steak with peppers, onions Au Jus


Today was a great day for sandwiches. I had leftovers from last night, which happened to be bison tenderloin tips, marinated in a wasabi, teriyaki sauce, with some ginger, some garlic, and some parsley. I left it a little on the rare side in case things needed to get heated up again, i didn’t want them to be well done, so today was the perfect day for a steak sandwich. It was cold out today, that kind of cold that gets into your bones, so I wanted a sandwich that would warm me up when I got home.

I knew I had the steak, but I had no idea what type of bread I was going to find in my cabinet. As it turns out, my options were everything bagel, cinnamon bread, or hotdog rolls. I went with the hotdog rolls. It should have been a classic amoroso roll from Philly, but no way i was driving out to the supermarket just to get some bread.

Well, since I knew that I couldn’t just put the steak pieces in the microwave, I decided to thinly slice them and make the au jus while I fried up some peppers, green onions, and garlic. I sliced the bison chunks as thinly as I could, and warmed up my home-made au jus. Soy sauce, teriyaki sauce, sesame chili oil, a little ginger, a little water, and a little bit of coca-cola. Not exactly the best for you, but it tastes good. I added in my thinly sliced meat pieces, and I let it warm up for a couple of minutes. I got the peppers nice and crispy, and when everything was ready, i split open the hot-dog buns, spread out the peppers, and added in the meat. A couple of spoonfuls of the au-jus and it was ready to eat!

If I would have done things differently, I would have had a better roll, and some more garlic… and probably some onions as well.

Leave a Reply

