Today was a great day for sandwich eaters…


Any day you get to eat a sandwich is a great day. I walked down to my local sandwich shop D’Deli and they were super busy. I waited in line, ran into a few people, and finally with much anticipation went up to the counter. The owner, who has seen me order sandwiches without bread all week, looked at me hopefully.

“Give me a sandwich Al”
“Alright…. ” He said “What will it be?”
“Big one on Wheat”

and that is where it started to get good. We took a variation of the dirty hippy that my boss down at Bent Gate has been getting, and I made some changes. I thought about making my first post-pesach sandwich a jewzer, but i wanted something a little different. Here it is…

Ingredients:
1. Wheat bread
2. Honey
3. Roasted Garlic
4. Cranberries
5. Fried Onions
6. Smoked Gouda
7. Carrots
8. Spring Mix
9. Cilantro
10. Sprouts
11. Corn and Beans
12. Fresh Tomatoes
13. Love

The sandwich was a great way back into the world of bread after not eating it all week… i think for dinner, i may make another sandwich… or maybe just eat some good bread with olive oil, rosemary, and balsamic.

3 thoughts on “Today was a great day for sandwich eaters…

  1. I was not a sandwich person until my husband took me to D’Deli and now at lunchtime when we’re feeling lazy I think we’re always hoping that the other one breaks down and says, “D’Deli?” This sounds delicious! I didn’t even know that they offered roasted garlic. Do you have a name for this one yet?

  2. I had the Bent Gate for lunch and it was fantastic. I didn’t want to share it with my curious lunchmates. Al wondered if I should get something from Bent Gate free with my sandwich – a sticker? A pair of T2X’s? Thanks so much for the recipe. Here’s a photo of it for you: http://bit.ly/bnWHRF

Leave a Reply

