Cheese and Fruit doesn’t have to be on a plate by itself


If you go to a fancy restuarant, they always have fancy cheese platters with fruits and jams and stuff like Brie. They always serve them with crackers, and people think that it is ok to mix the cheese, the fruit and the cracker, but when you go to put it on a sandwich, people look at you funny. I mean, it is perfectly natural to want to make a sandwich out of these things.

The other day I wanted a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, but when I opened up the fridge, I realized I had a nice fresh block of monteray jack cheese in there that I hadn’t given any attention to in a while. I already had the jelly in my hand from the desire for the PB&J, so i stuck with it. While poking my head in the fridge, I came across some roasted red peppers, as well as a couple of lettuce pieces that looked sad in the drawer.

I decided to see what I could do…..
Toasted 7 grain bread
Boysenberry Jam on one side.
5 slices of Monteray Jack Cheese (little slices, not the horizontal way)
1 Roasted Red Pepper
Some crushed mint and a couple of cilantro leaves
2 Pieces of lettuce
12 walnuts
Other piece of bread.

It was a tasty sandwich, which was totally blog worthy for a couple of reasons. 1: desires can change; go with it.. you never know what you will end up with. it could have been terrible, but it worked out. 2: it worked out because it was done in the right way. If you put the peppers right next to the jelly, it would have been terrible. if you put the walnuts next to the cheese it could have been ok, but walnuts and jam could be bad. Cheese and jam is good. Cheese and peppers are good. Peppers and mint is good, peppers and cilantro good. Boysenberry and cilantro-bad. walnuts + bread= good. Lettuce + Jam= bad.

see, there are a lot of combinations against you in this sandwich, but in the end it worked out!
Mangia!

Leave a Reply

