A breakfast concoction, ‘Merican Style


What is more American than cornbread, American Cheese, Fried Eggs, and more cornbread? Dunkin Donuts. And Dunkin Donuts Iced Coffee.

When I was driving across the country to go back east to where my family is from, I hit my first dunkin donuts at exactly 1000 miles. I thought this was pretty cool, especially since it was 7am. I went in and smelled the smells, and knew what I was going to order. It was the same thing I had been ordering every other day for 5 years when i worked at the YMCA. Iced French Vanilla Coffee, and an egg and cheese on a croissant. I know that these are not the healthiest and I know that there is nothing good for you in this sandwich. In fact, It could probably only be made worse by adding bacon and or sausage, which they do.

But there is something to be said about the familiar. I could really care less about the sandwich, especially since the croissants are generally not the freshest, and the eggs are DEFINITELY not fresh. The cheese is just one slice of American Cheese, and it is very often tossed in the microwave for about 35 seconds to make sure that it is done. But it feels like home. When you grow up becoming familiar with something, it just feels comfortable. Some people eat PB&J, others eat Mac & Cheese, some folks even eat pop-tarts. If it is before 11am, I go with the egg and cheese on a croissant. if it is after 11am, that is a different story, for a different time.

I was so excited that I had come across my first dunkies of the trip that they gave me a free donut! Thank you to the fantastic employees of Dunkies just outside of chicago…. i think it was exit 92.

Here is to you America. You I will ask you the same thing the guy in the shop asked me…. how is America supposed to run on Dunkin, when they aren’t everywhere? ponder that…

Leave a Reply

