Popeye’s Po-Boy and his little biscuit buddy


When you are on the road, staring at the highway for hours on end, you have a lot of thinking to do. Well, as i was driving across the country, I stopped a couple of times. At one point, I stopped at a rest area in I think Pennsylvania, but maybe it was Ohio, or maybe it was West Virginia. I don’t really know. I do know that I had very limited options for food in general, let alone sandwiches!

The options were either BK, Sbrarro, Panda Express, or Popeye’s Chicken and Biscuits. I figured of these options, the best place to have a sandwich would be popeyes, because they have biscuits and chicken. They also have some pretty good side dishes as well. So, i walked uop to the counter and ordered a chicken Po-Boy with a side of biscuit. My cousin ordered chicken tenders with a side of mac and cheese, and his girlfriend ordered mac and cheese with a side of fries. Well, I already had a sandwich, which came with lettuce, tomato, chicken, mayo (i asked for no mayo), and a decent bread. i really wanted to spice it up, but i wanted to have as many options for sandwiches as possible. I put a little bit of spicy mustard on my sandwich, then I split my biscuit in half, took some of the heaping chicken, a few french fries, a couple of leftover lettuce chunks, a pickle, and the spicy mustard and put it on the biscuit. It was just enough for a couple of bites, but it was also very different than the po-boy was because of the buttermilk. My cousin took his biscuit and his mac and cheese with some hot sauce and made that into a sandwich. All in all, it was a good time for sandwich making. The fries and the spicy sauce really gave it some kick, and the breaded chicken was heavily peppered which you don’t find unless you are looking for some good comfort food. Not only did we have some sandwiches, we also thought we saw someone who had stolen a baby from a hospital, but that has nothing to do with sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

