Airport Sandwiches are on the up and up…


get it? Airports, airplanes, up and up…? Yeah, i know. it was a really bad joke, but hey, that is my kind of humor. So when we flew back to CT for a wedding a couple of weeks ago, we took the redeye to JFK and I was waiting for my girlfriend and her twin to freshen up after the flight, I noticed the sandwich place in the JetBlue Terminal. Now, it being 7am, I was not really all that awake, but I did notice some nice looking sandwiches in what appeared to be a pretty decent little deli/kiosk/bar/ thing. They were just getting things going there, but there were a couple of nice people working there, and there were a surprisingly good amount of people that came over, checked out the menu, and then went and sat at one of the barstools. I decided to take a look at the menu instead of just look at the fake sandwiches, fully expecting to see very generic blah sandwiches, but they had a good selection, with a wide array of options. I was pleasantly surprised. The prices were also shocking to me, but not in the way that you would think.

I was expecting them to be a lot more for the location, and the size of the sandwich. These sandwiches were pretty much on par with what you would pay at a deli or any other restaurant that had decent sandwiches… they were in the $9-12 range, which seems reasonable for an airport. They were actually chopping their own veggies, and were not just pulling out jars of canned stuff. I was pleasantly surprised at the apparent quality of the foods…

of course I didn’t catch the name of the place, it was either the boar’s head place or another place (boars head would make sense, given the deli) but i did snap a photo….

When I am there next time, I will take a picture of the location, as well as get a shot of the menu…
I am very glad to see that the quality of not only airline food, but of sandwiches in airports is lifting off to new heights! Hopefully this continues on down the runway and we don’t have to bail out without parachutes when it gets out of control…. ok. over the top. i know.

And on that note, I will let you ponder what kind of sandwich you will have on your next flight? Will it be a cracker sandwich full of peanuts? what can you make that is a sandwich that you can bring through security? Does your sauce exceed the 3oz of liquid rule? if so, you might need to rethink your sandwich design, especially for travel. How do you protect your sandwich if you are not checking bags…..

Ahh, the questions that can be asked. And I haven’t even started on the inflight magazine that is all about sandwiches… I will save that for another day!

Leave a Reply

