Smoked out at the new smokehouse and bbq


There has been rumor that the new bbq joint, Maverick’s Oak Pit Grill, in Golden was going to open, and finally they did. As with every restaurant, there are hits and misses, and there are the good and the bad. I had heard that the food was ok, and I also knew that the ventilation system was not quite set up. The bar and grill that used to be in the same location always smelled like a grease pit, so I wasn’t expecting much different from this place.

Well, I knew that they were open, because every time I walked by they said they were open, and I kept getting coupons to go in there. Well, being at work, I didn’t have any of the coupons with me, so I decided to check on the local google machine and see what I could come up with…

Well, i found their website. http://mavericksoakpitgrill.com It says it is coming soon and says that they are in golden. There is an image, which is pretty advanced….. but of course there is no phone number. There is also no address, which is fine, because I know where it is. Anyway, I decided to go down there and see what they had for sandwiches…. I looked at their menu (which I would link if i could… but i can’t) and they had a couple of sandwiches. they are trying to get their liquor license, and they are trying to figure out the ventilation system.

I had heard rumors about the quality of service and the quality of food, but I was the only one in there, so my view may be a little skewed…. i mean, they get negative points for not being able to add simple html text to their website with the phone number, but the menu looked good and things looked tasty. i went for a bbq tri tip sandwich on a garlic bread roll, with hand cut french fries. I left for about 10 minutes while my food was being prepared, and when I came back, they were just getting my order ready. Prices were not bad for a sandwich, and the portions were pretty good. They happily obliged to my request for extra terriyaki sauce on the side.

When I got back to work, I opened up the container and this is what I saw…

It looked pretty tasty, and it was a pretty good size…. notice the hand in the background? That is one of my co-workers reaching for the terriyaki sauce. He ordered the same thing I did, and he also realized that there could have been more sauce on the sandwich. The flavor of the meat was good, the bread was toasted, but I couldn’t get any garlic flavor out of it, and I was always under the assumption that bbq was supposed to be messy no matter how you ate it. This was not the case at all. I appreciate that the bun was not soggy with bbq sauce, but there could have at least been a little more than what was on there!

The fries were large cut, and were definitely fresh, but they didn’t seem to have enough seasoning. I ended up taking a couple of them, and as per my usual, putting them in the sandwich, and then pouring some of the terriyaki sauce on top to moisten up the whole thing. I wasn’t really blown away by any of the flavors, and i am curious to see what the oak pit seasoning will do for these guys? I guess I will have to wait and see.

Overall, I gave the sandwich a 2.5/5 because the portions were decent, the fries were fresh, but there was no kick to the flavor, and the bread was sort of a slightly oversized hot dog bun. I think I will wait until they get their smoker up before I go back for more…. sorry.

Oh yeah, should anyone happen to come across this while looking for their phone number, here it is:
Mavericks Oak Pit Grill
1301 13th St
Golden CO 80401
Phone: 303 271 1bbq (1227)

One thought on “Smoked out at the new smokehouse and bbq

  1. Good review. I ate there a week or so ago and agree with what you have to say. The food is not bad. The problem I have with the place is that it just isn’t BBQ. I think BBQ should be served on a slotted plate, paper plate or newspaper, eaten with your hands or plastic utensils, and like you said, should be messy. It’s too neat and tidy in there. Linen tablecloths, linen napkins, silverwear, servers and chips and salsa? I’d love to see some quality BBQ in Golden, but I don’t think this is it.

Leave a Reply

