Mom’s Meatballs: Put them in my mouth!


My mom is great, plain and simple. She may not be the best cook around, but she does make some really good meatballs…. They were what I would ask for her to make me for special ocassions, like my birthday, and when I would stop by for a rare visit home from college. She uses a pretty simple recipe, which I will get up a little bit later, but the key to the good meatballs is the egg to meat ratio, which is 3 to 4 eggs per lb.

Well, I came home for a friends wedding, which was close to my parents house, and sure enough when my mom asked me what I wanted for dinner, my response was “MEATBALLS!!!” So she went to work making them….

Then Emily joined in, because she likes to help… I did eventually join in, even though I hate getting my hands dirty. I don’t mind doing the work and cooking, having meat and stuff stuck in between my fingers gives me the heebie-jeebies…

Emily is pretty good at making a good meat ball…

I made some garlic bread… with some good italian rolls, sliced in half, drizzled with olive oil, butter, garlic, oregano, basil, and a little bit of paprika, salt and pepper…. put it in the oven for 4 or 5 minutes on broil, and you are good to go…

Soon it was ready to eat… (i turned it into art)

mmmm. sandwich art…

I was a very happy person…. I was so excited, my hair was standing straight up!

Overall Rating: A-
Reason: Too much olive oil on the bread. it was a little messy. The meatballs were really tasty, but I would have made them bigger ( i tried, but I got scolded for goofing off…. silly mom)

Leave a Reply

