The Wheels are Still on this Jackwagon, Even if it is not for mamby-pambys


After it had been a while since I had been to D’Deli, and it has been even almost as long since I have updated the sandwich blog. I apologize for that, but I am letting you all know that there are some good sandwiches coming up this week, so stay posted.

So anyway, I went to D’Deli, and they had this sign up….

Now, I have seen the Geico commercial where the drill sergeant is pretending to be a therapist. It is pretty good. Anyway, this sandwich looked interesting. Not eating bacon, I figured that it would seriously change the taste of the sandwich without it, so I never even thought to order it. They happened to have just made a sample, and they had no bacon on half of it, so I grabbed a bite of the other side. It was pretty good.

The ingredient list includes: Peanut Butter, Jelly, Honey, Pineapple, Sunflower Seeds, bacon, fried onions, banana peppers, jalepenos, and siracha hot sauce….

So i ordered the sandwich without bacon… and I went back to work to unwrap it, and this is what I saw….

It looked like a mess, it smelled strongly of spice and hot peppers, and i wasn’t quite sure what to think of the fact that the sandwich was overflowing out of the side. The sandwich smelled good, and i know how it tasted because i had just had a little nibble over at the deli.

I dove into it and started eating away…. the first half was really tasty, and the pineapple mixed surprisingly well with the pb and honey. The sunflower seeds and onions gave it some crunch, and then the jalepenos kicked in. About 1/2 way through the second half, I don’t know what happened but I hit the wall. I suddenly felt the need to put the sandwich down. I tried to fight it…. I tried to convince myself that it was because I got a spicy pepper, or I was thirsty from the PB and Onions… but the truth is I was failing. I took a deep breath.

and exhaled…. and I took another deep breath….

and exhaled again. And looked at the sandwich that was in my hand. I took another bite slowly, and I chewed. And I took another bite…. and I swallowed. Bit by bit, the sandwich went down… and finally after 30 or so tiny little bits. it was gone and I was not a mamby pamby. I was however very full, my mouth felt like it was on fire, and I didn’t really think that I was able to move or be very productive.

All in all, it was a good sandwich, but I think a half would have done it for me…. Despite the blend of hot, sweet, and tart, it was good.

Overall Rating: B+
Pros: It was different, and it was very filling.
Cons: It was a big messy sandwich. The flavors all combined to be flavorful, but after about half of the sandwich, it was a little too much.

Leave a Reply

