A double sandwich kind of day in the mountains


sometimes you’re lucky enough to be able to eat 2 sandwiches in the same day and you get to hang out with friends. a couple of weeks ago my friends and I went to ski in the sky chutes,

and I brought a sandwich.

don’t worry I put it in a sandwich protector so it wouldn’t get ruined.

after skiing the y chute we all sat around at the bottom and ate our

lunches. I

busted out my turkey sandwich with

lettuce,

mushrooms,

garlic

and a shitake vinegerette

on a

whole grain bread. It was

lightly toasted.

I couldn’t pile the meat on super thick, because I didn’t want to risk crushing the sandwich with the sandwich protector.
Given that it was after hiking, and after a little bit of survival skiing, and the sandwich was cold, it was still pretty tasty. This is a picture of it before it got eaten…
image

Then we got on a bus, and my friend Hans fell asleep…. He did not eat as good of a sandwich as I did, so he was not as strong.
image

After a bus ride and a short car ride, we ended up at the Breckenridge Brewery in Breckenridge. I have been here a number of times when folks come in from out of town, or after a day of skiing or a hut trip or something. They have good beers, good food, and they had on college basketball. I generally only care about 2 of those things. But, in case you are wondering, there are a couple of locations of the Breckenridge Brewery. Well, after some time of looking at the menu, debating as to whether or not this day was actually worthy of the title of the Sandwich Duo, I decided I wanted one of the things on this menu…

image

Can you guess what I got? It was the fried chicken sandwich, asian style…..
image

I think that I was expecting more of an actual fried chicken, not just a fried breaded chicken cutlet… I think my mind was hoping for more along the lines of a crispy fried chicken, but when it got there, I was suddenly hungry again, and the sandwich highly complemented my glass of water and my agave wheat ale.

While the sandwich looked like it was missing things, there was sauce, onions, lettuce, tomato, chicken, and a pretty thick bun. The sauce was some sort of terriyaki/hoisen/soy sauce blend that had been reduced. It tasted ok, but didn’t blow me out of the water. Maybe it was because my body and taste buds were tiered, and maybe its because the sandwich just needed something. Anyway, I ate it, and I would eat it again.

Overall Sandwich Rating: B
Presentation: B-
Structure: A-
Flavors: A-

Non-Sandwich Related:
Atmosphere: A (locals bar, but has a good vibe)
Service: B (its a busy place, and they have to deal with a lot of tourists)
Price: B (in a tourist town….but you get good portions)

Leave a Reply

