National Sandwich Day, and why sandwiches are important!


I apologize. I really do. I have eaten a ton of sandwiches in the last couple of weeks, and I have had the nerve to not blog about them. I could list them, because I keep track, but the reality is I would prefer to wait until I can list them, and put up some serious blogs.

Everyone always says that when you get married, things change, right? Well, that might be true, but it might not be. There have been some pretty serious changes, like I have a set of matching dishes, a new washer and dryer, and I still haven’t figured out what to do with half of the stuff that we got for the wedding. But one thing that hasn’t changed is the fact that I like sandwiches. My free time has changed a little bit, and a lot of my effort went towards writing wonderful thank you notes instead of sandwich blogs….

Speaking of sandwiches and weddings, I didn’t have a single sandwich the day of the wedding! At the rehearsal dinner, we had all sorts of sandwich makings, a panini press, recipes, and lots of types of bread. In fact, some of that bread is still in my freezer! One of these days we are going to take all of the pictures of the sandwiches that people made and put them in a coffee table book. How cool is that?

Anyway, I digress. Since today is National Sandwich Day, I will discuss why sandwiches are so important. I will also discuss why sandwiches can help build good relationships between people, and not just in a marriage. Let us begin: why are sandwiches important? Sandwiches are important for three main reasons; 1) they give us meals that help sustain us in our daily lives 2) They are expressions of our artistic intentions and feelings 3) and they are reason for endless discussion in the workplace and the media.

The weekend of the wedding, I ate a lot, and drank a fair amount, but to really survive, you need to have sustained intake. That is where sandwiches come in. Here is the first sandwich I had as a married man, September 13, 2011 @ 3:23pm. I had to make this all by myself, but it still shows all of aspects that build a strong relationship and a strong sandwich.

image

This sandwich has structure, but is not limited to the boring standards. This sandwich is built on a thick roll, with some spices cooked into it, and it also has an order. That order is good for a basis, there is bread, sauce, and then the insides. Everything in life has order, but as you can see by this sandwich, there is also a lot of variety. Not everything we do in our relationships is the same every day. Not every time you make a sandwich should things be the same.

This sandwich has a lot of different options that people might not think would go together. There is a layer of spicy spread, some turkey and some roast beef, mixed together, some sliced peppers from the garden, some lettuce, and some sprouts. There is a thin layer of minced garlic in there as well, and a little bit of salt and pepper. Now this is a sandwich to represent a relationship. If you could have a choice of a boring sandwich with only thin white-bread, lettuce, mayo, and one choice of meat OR you could have this sandwich, which would you choose? I am guessing that 99% of you would choose this one, because it is different. It gives you options, and it gives you variety, diversity, and every bite will be a tad bit different. It lets you explore your creative side and express your inner desire for something structured yet free form at the same time. You can make a sandwich and turn to your co-worker and say “what would happen if I turned this sandwich upside down? would it still taste the same?” You aren’t just eating a sandwich like this to survive, you are eating it because you enjoy life, you enjoy the challenge, and you enjoy the variety. This first sandwich as a married man gets and A+.

I wish you all a happy and healthy National Sandwich Day, may each bite be better than the last!

YEAHHHH!

hip hip hooray, its sandwich day!

Leave a Reply

