A croissant sandwich on a snowy day


Welcome and hello! It has been a very long time since I’ve written a blog post much to my fans disappointment. I have had a few things happening over the years and unfortunately the split loaves slipped on the list of high priorities.

I have not however been lacking in eating sandwiches. I still love them as much as I always have and look forward to rekindling my relationship with this blog. I say welcome back introduction I would like to talk about this croissant sandwich that I made for myself this morning after shoveling our sidewalks. With both children at sleepovers and my wife asleep I was trying to figure out what to do with my time, and it came down to organizing screws in the garage or cooking myself a nice breakfast sandwich.

Well as you can imagine I decided on a sandwich otherwise I would not be posting on this blog. As I sat there eating my sandwich and letting the onions caramelize and the mushrooms brown so nicely I kept thinking about how I needed to get back to the things that are important to me in my life. This past year has been extremely difficult, is I suffered a traumatic injury resulting in a broken neck multiple broken ribs and a traumatic brain injury. Well it was not an experience that I wish upon anybody, the big takeaway that I have is that every day is important. The little things that don’t get noticed are the things that matter most. It’s things like somebody bringing you a cup of coffee, or taking you on a walk to make sure you go outside and enjoy the day.

But this blog is not about what happened to me in this past year, or the changes that have happened to me as a result of the TBI. This blog is not about the invisible injuries or what it was like not knowing if I would ever get back to where I was before. This blog is about sandwiches. This blog is about what’s between the bread and today I want to make sure that you all have a good understanding of what went into my croissant sandwich this morning.

Croissant sandwich and coffee.

I would like to say that this croissant was made with one of my favorite croissants from Kwosson Bakery, but unfortunately it was not. It was a Costco croissant bought in bulk but has not yet had enough time to go hard so I will call that a win. Last night I re-seasoned my cast iron pans, so this morning I started with a couple of slices of onions, a mushroom, and a touch of butter and oil. After heating up the pan on medium Heat I added in the onions and mushrooms to saute and caramelize. I added in one farm fresh egg, a touch of salt and pepper, and a dash of hot sauce. I layered the mushrooms and onions with baby spinach a touch of salsa, the egg, and then the finest of cheeses that we had in the house at the time. I would have liked to have used something like a gruyere, but unfortunately we only had Velveeta slices. Normally I have not a huge fan of Velveeta slices but in this particular case it went to the perfect melting and gooeyness to contain the slight dripping of the yolk from the egg. As I sit here drinking coffee acquired from Hilo on a recent family vacation and eating my sandwich I very much appreciate everything that my friends and family have done for me. Even though it has been years since I have written a blog, they still harass me and question “why don’t you blog about it? “

Well this is for all of you.

And since it has been a very long time, here or a few random pictures of sandwiches so that I can say they made it into a sandwich blog.

Fish tacos in Hawaii.
Bbq chicken sandwich kona brewing. Made with Dr. Pepper
Thanksgiving sandwich
A quiz in the week jr
A sandwich my job bought me. Yes, I threw it out.
Croissant sandwich from LA fillete in Denver.
A yummy sandwich
Double dogs.
Another Turkey Thanksgiving sandwich

Stay posted. I’ll be back…

One thought on “A croissant sandwich on a snowy day

  1. I did a double take and checked the date when I saw Between the Bread come through my inbox. Psyched to see it was a legit post!!

    I’m thankful you’ve come through ok since your accident – I know it was a lot of work – keep it up 🙂

    Nice sandwich this morning! Way better reading than screw sorting.

Leave a comment